Tags

,

Ladi Avokanto, ReviewNow before you go thinking that this blog has changed languages, let me clarify.  Ladi Avokanto is an avocado and olive oil made by Sponge Skincare, a brand inspired by the Greek ancestry of its creators, hence the Greek name.  Greece is not only a beautiful place with amazing culture to explore, it is also the home of numerous natural skincare treatments using everything from oils to yoghurt to natural extracts like rose and jasmine.  Aegean inspired skincare products are having a moment in the spotlight right now with brands like Korres and Sponge popularizing Greek skincare remedies.

I stumbled upon Ladi Avokanto after doing some research on facial oils, which are also having a moment it the spotlight right now.  Facial oils have amazing benefits – using natural ingredients to hydrate the skin but also trap in moisture to keep your skin hydrated for longer.  After reading some reviews on the Sephora site, it was clear to me that this was going to be a great product to try on my already oily and acne prone skin.  Avocado oil is known for its anti-aging properties – it penetrates deeply into the skin to hydrate and boost collagen production.  It also has a ton of Vitamin A which is a natural alternative to Retinol, a known ingredient in many skincare products that increases cell turnover and renewal.  Olive oil is an oil that is the most structurally similar to our skin itself, therefore is a great moisturizer to help restore skin.  With that combination, Ladi Avokanto seemed like the perfect product to try as my first step into the world of facial oils.

Yet, weeks after it arrived in my mailbox, I still had not opened the bottle.  Why?  Well, after years of being told the only way to keep my skin clear of imperfections was to remove all traces of oil, applying oil to my face seemed counterintuitive.  However, the total opposite is true.  Using products to remove oils from the skin only makes our bodies produce more oil to keep skin hydrated, thus resulting in shiny skin and even more acne.  Knowing all this , it was still difficult for me to open up that bottle and rub some Ladi Avokanto oil on my skin…but I did it!

Facial oils are best applied on damp skin before you apply any serums or moisturizers, so I started out by using Ladi Avokanto right after washing my face.  The first thing I noticed was the smell – it had a sweet yet fresh smell from the plant extracts added to the oil that was intoxicating but not overpowering.  The oil itself went on my skin smoothly and didn’t feel greasy on my face.  It absorbed with very little effort and didn’t leave a sheen as I thought it might.  My skin felt moisturized and healthy, not loaded with product.  Even though they say to apply your serum after using a facial oil actually helps it work better (because the oil opens up pores for better absorption), I found my skin was moisturized enough to use just Ladi Avokanto before bed with my normal eye cream.

After a few weeks of using Ladi Avokanto, I am pleasantly surprised by how light yet effective this product is.  I adore the smell and how easily it is applied, not to mention all the benefits of the ingredients in it.  The only drawback is that if you are using an exfoliant (like Bliss Incredi-Peel), applying this oil within the first 30 minutes creates friction and rubs off skin.  Not a huge deal, but just a warning to take some time after you exfoliate before applying this oil.

I strongly encourage you to try this oil or another facial oil that fits your skin type.  There are so many out on the market now – just remember to choose one with the most natural ingredients and free of mineral oils which can actually dehydrate skin.

