Tags

, , ,

Inspiration, Mindfulness, Meditation, Mindful MediationI work at a very large global corporation, which from time to time has its perks (besides a stable source of income, I suppose). One of those perks is being invited to interesting networking events and workshops.  A recent workshop I attended was on meditation, a practice that I have always seen as very disciplined and requiring supreme focus.  What I learned is that meditation is more about letting your mind be free so it can come back to a place of calm on its own and really has nothing to with restricting your thinking.

For a type A personality like me, learning how to live a more peaceful existence is a necessity in the crazy world we live in.  Though I have not been practicing meditation, I have been doing some research on mindful meditation and the concept of mindfulness:

Mindfulness means maintaining a moment-by-moment awareness of our thoughts, feelings, bodily sensations, and surrounding environment.

Mindfulness also involves acceptance, meaning that we pay attention to our thoughts and feelings without judging them—without believing, for instance, that there’s a “right” or “wrong” way to think or feel in a given moment. When we practice mindfulness, our thoughts tune into what we’re sensing in the present moment rather than rehashing the past or imagining the future.

(source: Greater Good)

The more I have read about mindfulness (the best article I have found is from the Greater Good), the more I realize that this might be way to bring peace and order to my thoughts.  Like you, I am often running in all different directions and so is my brain.  Though I am not sure about meditation, I am very intrigued by the concept of living life in a state of full awareness of my feelings and processing my thoughts completely before reacting to a situation.   It’s a simple idea, but a bit of inspiration to hopefully send you into the weekend in a more peaceful state of mind.

