Tags

, , ,

Dessert, Raspberry S'mores, Valentine's Day, Recipe, As a child, Valentine’s Day was always such a simple and sweet holiday, one that focused on the symbolic centre of our emotions, the heart.  Paper hearts, cinnamon hearts, candy hearts, heart-shaped cards…Hearts took over every inch of almost every elementary school classroom I was in.

Somehow, when romance (or lack thereof) got in the mix in my teen years, Valentine’s Day filled me with angst and the general feeling that it was a holiday made to point out the one thing I didn’t have but desperately wanted:  someone else’s heart.  A heart that I knew was all mine and one whose intentions I would never question.  Many a Valentine’s Day passed where the idea of this became a little less realistic in my mind, but, admittedly something I wanted more and more.

I’m probably not the only person who has felt this way and certainly will not be the last.  It has been a long, hard and sometimes disappointing road, but fast forward to 2014…I have a heart and it’s the heart of a fella I deeply love, admire and trust.  Looking back, I’m not sure why I spent so many Valentine’s days turning my nose up at silly gifts and fun-loving traditions.  Valentine’s Day is a day to celebrate love of all types, not just the romantic kind.  It is a shame that through all those Valentine’s days I didn’t take a moment to acknowledge the love I did have in my life and instead focused on the love I didn’t have.

What I am trying to say, is that I understand why some hate to celebrate Valentine’s Day but still hope that you do!  Even if it is just a moment to be thankful for the love you do have in your life from friends, family, co-workers or that guy at Starbucks who always gets your coffee right.

And if you’re stuck for inspiration, how about a little dessert to start?  I recently made these amazing Raspberry Kissed S’mores which are simple to prepare but oh so indulgent. They are great to share with a group at a V-Day brunch, over hot cocoa with a friend while you watch “Hitch” for the 20th time or that fancy dinner you are making for your Valentine.

Dessert, Raspberry S'more, Valentine's Day, Recipe

