Tags

, , ,

Once upon a time, I bought the most amazingly sexy black heels on sale at Winners (Canada’s version of Marshalls).  They were platform, peep toe, patent leather with a stiletto heel.  They were a just gorgeous find and I could not wait to wear them!  At the time I had a fancy job that I dressed up for, so once I figured out the perfect outfit to pair them with, I made the inaugural tour of my new babies at work.

Fast forward to lunch hour and a stop at the local Starbucks with my co-worker Wendy. Everything was going great until, while deep in conversation (ok, ok, gossip), I missed a step while walking in the parking lot and crumbled to the ground.  My right foot was completely twisted on account of my brand new heels.  I was in pain, I was embarrassed and most of all I was sad that my beautiful shoes would not be in rotation for a long, long time.

That my friends, was the beginning of the end of my love affair with heels.  But..they say that with all endings come new beginnings, and thus began my love affair with flat shoes.  Yes, I am a converted flat shoe lover.  In fact, at one point I was going to re-brand Lady In Charge as “Best Flat Forward” until my fella kindly pointed out that saying that phrase out loud is almost impossible (really, try it).

Lucky for me (though sad for my wallet), there are loads of options when it comes to buying flats.  Spring 2014 trends are already being predicted, and the D’Orsay style of flat shoes is one of them.  According to Refinery 29 “the D’Orsay-style shoe…is any pump-style flat or heel that features a cut-away vamp”, with the “vamp” part of a shoe being the upper part of the shoe between the toes and the heel.

Simply put, D’Orsay style shoes are just a little bit sexier and a little bit more interesting than the average shoe. For that reason, I can definitely see myself indulging in this spring trend.

D'Orsay Flats

Top:  Need Supply Co. Studio Flats

Middle:  Belle by Sigerson Morrison Silvia Suede d’Orsay flatsSteven by Steve Madden ‘Sawyer’ Flat,  Asos Liberty Pointed Ballet Flats

Bottom: Tildon “Loren” FlatChinese Laundry Kristin Cavallari ‘Cadence’ Flat

