Tags

,

New Year's Resolutions

Trick yourself into keeping your resolutions this year with me! {Image Credit}

Some days the pressure of life is more than enough to make one want to crawl under the covers and not come out, so it’s no wonder that so many cringe at the thought of setting New Year’s resolutions.  Setting goals is a part of life, but I am not sure January 1st is the best time to do this.  It’s cold and dark, and everyone is coming down from the high of the holidays.  Not exactly a great time to tackle new projects when energy is low, which is probably why so many of us fail to keep the resolutions we set.

But…like many of you, though I hate the dreaded “r” word, making resolutions is a chance to start fresh, so I do like to put some thought into how I want the next year to be different.  This year, I’m going to focus on specific actions that I want to take, instead of setting resolutions about general things like lose weight, save money, etc.  When a resolution is too general, it allows for all sorts of room for failure, which we all know is a huge drag and makes us all wonder why we even set resolutions in the first place.  I am focusing on creating opportunities that will help me attain my goals in ways that I know I am going to follow, like spending time with people who have similar goals or incorporating my goals into things I already like to do.  It’s almost like tricking yourself into keeping your resolutions.

Here are my goals for 2014, along with the “trick” to reach the goal and the resulting action I will take.  I am not sure how well this will, work but I am going to give it a try and keep y’all posted on my progress!

Goal: Lose 10 pounds so that I am at the most optimal weight my doctor recommends for my best health.

Trick:  Incorporate exercise into social activities with people who I care about.

Action:  Have 1 date a week with my fella that involves exercise (this could be a bike ride, walk, or a full on workout).

Action:  Set coffee and walking “dates” with friends instead of going for drinks.

Goal: Stop obsessing about the little things so much that I lose focus on the big picture.

Trick:  Focus on hobbies that I know help me alleviate stress.

Action: Reading is one of my favourite ways to relax, so reading up on ways on how to become more calm and focused such as mediation, diet and exercise would be a double benefit to achieving this goal.

Goal: Spend less time trying to please others and more time doing what makes me happy.

Trick: Being a details oriented person, putting events into a calendar gives me true satisfaction.

Action: Schedule 1 day per month that is just for me to do what I want.

