Tags

,

Ever since I was a little girl, I have loved things that sparkle, everything from glitter eye shadow to the shiny fabric of one of my mom’s saris.  Things haven’t changed much since I have grown up, except that of late my sparkle obsession is with sequins.  Sequins are making a comeback, y’all!  While shopping on Black Friday, I found myself squeezing into a gorgeous pink-bronze long sleeve sheath at BCBG at 2am.  Though the colour was fabulous with my skin tone, the fit was not quite right.  Despite what I can only call a state of euphoria and shopping exhaustion, I thankfully recognized this and did not buy the dress.  I did find myself gravitating towards sequins for the rest of the trip – tops, dresses, headbands and even leggings!  Since I am trying to invest in my wardrobe for long-term wear, not short-term fun, I am adding “a sequined dress in a flattering colour and classic cut” to my shopping list.

I have my eye on this Tadashi Shoji number as a potential option.  It’s not your basic black dress but it’s not your traditional (read: tacky) sequined dress either.  The lace pattern and mix of navy & black adds some visual interest, while the cut of the dress makes it both classic and universally flattering.

