Tags

, ,

Perfume, Quote, Christian Dior

For a long, long time, I was a “perfume whore”.  I jumped from one fragrance to the next without thinking and never seem to settle on something because nothing spoke to me.  The spicy fragrances were too strong and overpowering, the floral ones were too girly, the citrus ones were not girly enough.  Finding the scent that represented my true self, a classy yet sassy lady, seemed forever elusive.  That changed when I discovered Jo Malone fragrances.

I was in Ireland on an exchange program and after 15 heavily scheduled days of a 30 day, 11 stop exchange, I finally had an afternoon to myself in a place called Limerick.  I ended up in the beauty section of Brown Thomas where I honed in on the large Jo Malone counter.  I had heard the name before and was curious to find out what the fuss was all about.  What I learned was that the scents in her collection are very unique – from Lime & Mandarin to Wild Fig & Cassis – and so are the recommended ways to pair two or more of the scents together, called fragrance combining.  I ended up buying two complimentary fragrances that day and I have been a devoted Jo Malone customer since.

Jo Malone Blue Agava & Cacao

My signature scent – Jo Malone Blue Agava & Cacao

The point of fragrance combining is to create a scent that is unique, individual and made especially for you based on your tastes.  Sounds pretty special doesn’t it?  Creating your signature scent is simple with Jo Malone’s handy menu of popular combinations, but you are free to experiment and find what speaks to you.  I chose to combine a deeply floral scent called Blue Agava and Cacao that smells utterly decadent and is full of feminine power, which I often pair with English Pear and Freesia, a sweet and classic scent.

This combination of these two fragrances is a true representation of my two sides – classy and sassy.  Your signature scent should represent who you are and make you feel your best.  When I put my combination of Blue Agava & Cacao with English Pear & Freesia on, on I feel just like I should – a little classy, a little sassy, and all me.

(Jo Malone fragrances can be found at Holt Renfrew in Canada, at Nordstrom in the United States and Brown Thomas in Ireland)

