Tags

,

It’s common knowledge that even if you try your hardest, it is almost impossible to buy only what you set out to when visiting a drugstore.  After years of pondering why this is, I have realized that I will never figure out how I can avoid walking in looking for toothpaste and walking out with $75 worth of stuff.  It’s just who I am, and I’ve accepted it (even if my wallet has not).

So, with that in mind, I thought I would share some of the items that I pick up on a regular basis at the drugstore:

Drugstore Favourites, Vichy, St. Ives, Essie, L'Oreal, Neostrata, Quo, JR Watkins

L’Oreal Lineur Intensique – I am not myself without black eyeliner.  Sounds dramatic, but I have literally been asked if I am ill when not wearing it, so…I guess I am going to keep wearing it!  I like to do a nice clean line for the top of my eye, so I use liquid eyeliner.  L’Oreal makes the best liquid liner for those not afraid to be a little adventurous and stray away from the pen version.  The brush is actually very easy to handle after a few tries but if you are still a little wary, a tutorial on how to create the perfect line with this liner can be found on the “vintage” version of Lady In Charge.

St Ives Exfoliating Apricot Scrub – The cult favourite brand St Ives makes loads of products that leave your skin feeling as great as products that require a hefty financial investment.  Their Apricot Scrub is one of my go to items to scrub away dry and dead skin when the weather gets cold and heaters go on blast.  A jar of this stuff will last you all winter, trust me!

Essie Polishes – I adore the vibrancy of Essie nail polishes and the adorable little bottles they come in, not to mention their price.  For those reasons, I only feel a tiny bit guilty for a split second when I pick up (another) bottle.

JR Watkins Body Oil Mist – Though not a fan of body oils, I purchased this body oil mist because a magazine review touted its ability to moisturize yet dry quickly.  Body oils can get messy and take forever to absorb, but I like this one because the it sprays just the right amount, dries almost immediately when you rub into your skin and has a great lavender scent.  (Bonus: it works in a pinch when you have a squeaky bathroom door and need to oil the hinge.  True story!  My door no longer squeaks…)

Neostrata Oil Free Moisture Infusion Lotion – This lotion has got to be my best drugstore find, from a personal perspective.  I have struggled with acne and oily skin for years and tried just about every lotion in the drugstore that claimed to help those issues.  Not until I stumbled upon Neostrata’s Oil Free Moisture Infusion Lotion did I realize that an oil-free lotion could actually work without drying out my skin (which no one mentions can cause more oil production and make your skin worse).  If you have oily skin, run (run!) to the drugstore for this item.  You won’t regret it.

Quo Automatic Eyeliner – Keeping with the eyeliner theme, Quo’s pencil liner is automatic (I despise having to stop my makeup routine to sharpen a pencil), has an amazing smudger on one end, and comes in all sorts of great colours.  I always have one of these on hand in my makeup drawer.

Vichy Normaderm Purifying Astringent Toner – Beauty editors seem to go back and forth on the usefulness of toners, but I’ve stuck to this one for a long long time.  A quick splash of this closes my pores and wakes up my skin but never leaves it dry or tight.

A few of my other favourite drugstore items that I have reviewed in the past (but are not pictured):

Boots No 7 Quick Thinking 4-in-1 Wipes – The best makeup removal wipes ever.  I use these after late nights, before going to the gym, etc.

Almay Clear Complexion Concealer – I stumbled upon this product in a desperate situation (terrible acne, no time to go to Sephora), but even after trying other complexion clearing concealers, this one is the easiest to blend and stays the most natural (read: not dry) looking.  I used this item almost on a daily basis, it’s that gentle yet acne fighting.

