Tags

, ,

MARC JACOBS BEAUTY Lust For Lacquer Lip Vinyl , ReviewTo say that I am in love with Marc Jacobs and his brands would be an understatement.  I’ve made a few investments in some of his purses (not cheap but so worth it!) and hope to invest more in his fantastic clothing lines (if budget allows!), but for now I will settle on trying out his new beauty line which debuted earlier this month.  The first product I knew I had to have was the Lust For Lacquer Lip Vinyl.  So last week during one of the rare times I took a full lunch hour, I booted to the Sephora near where I work to pick up one of these “champagne infused” lip glosses. I could not wait to test it out, and test it out I did!  Within 48 hours I tried this gloss while at the beach, to a wedding ceremony, out shopping with my mom and at a wedding reception.  The results of this thorough product testing?  Well…read on!

Claim to Fame: “This lightly pigmented, plumping formula is infused with antioxidants, essential oils, and a hint of effervescence for a perfect pout with the highest shine. The patented, pillowed applicator glides on the lip vinyl for precise application with a shimmery, lust-worthy finish.” (via sephora.com)

Price Point:  Around $35, available at Sephora

The Results:  I have never really been a fan of lip gloss.  It rubs off the moment you eat or drink something, sticks to my long hair and generally looks un-natural when you are a fan of more subtle make-up like me.  The only times I wear lip gloss would be to an event like a wedding or a night out or when I have the patience to re-apply product constantly while trying to keep my hair away from my lips.  But, I had faith in Marc Jacobs’ version and he did not disappoint.  This gloss passed the windy beach, hair flying test (it did not stick!) and with some lip liner stayed on during my entire dinner and dessert at the wedding reception I went to.  It also met my standards for subtlety – I chose a plum-y pink colour called Kissable which was neutral yet added a natural looking shine to my lips.  I also found the applicator for this gloss to be very well-designed.  Normally the applicator for a lip gloss tends to be thin and pointy so you have to go around your lips a few times to fully cover them.  But not with the Lust for Lacquer Lip Vinyl.  As promised, the applicator is “pillowy” soft and one swipe covered all of my top lip and most of my bottom lip.

Bang for the Buck:  Like the old saying “you get what you pay for”, it seems in this case if you spend a little more on lip gloss (avoiding all the drugstore and department store brands I had tried in the past), you find a better product.  At first paying $35 for a lip gloss made me wince, but after trying it, Lust for Lacquer Lip Vinyl is worth every penny.

The Last Word:  The obsession continues. I still love Marc Jacobs, but now I love him more because of his fantastic Lust for Lacquer Lip Vinyl.

 

