Tags

, ,

Lady Lesson, Me Time

“Me time” doesn’t have to be about champagne and roses…but wouldn’t it be great if it was?

Being a strong, confident and well put together lady can be a lot of work.  Sometimes there is not enough time to keep up with all the things you want to do when there are so many things you have to do.  I realized this about two weeks ago when I badly needed a pedicure before a family event but literally had no time to get one.  This was on my list to book in for weeks, but as it happens, carving out this little bit of time for me was proving nearly impossible between all the more important (read: less personally indulgent) things I had to do.  I finally had a bit of time right before the event, but as luck would have it, every nail salon I went to was busy!  Apparently I am not the only one who thinks Sunday morning is a good time to get a little pampering and maintenance in.  This made me both frustrated with the situation and annoyed with myself for not being better at managing my time.  As I drove around in a semi-rage looking for somewhere, anywhere!, to get a quick pedi in, I came to this epiphany:

There will never be enough time to do all the things we want to do.  Especially as women.  

Yes…I said it out loud.  I said what we all think from time to time in a moment of solitude but dismiss the thought quickly because we’ve grown up in that generation that has been told that women can have it all and women can do it all.  So thus, as women we naturally conclude that we must do it all, including take care of ourselves.  In reality, we will never have a moment where there is nothing else useful, helpful, or fruitful to do so that we can achieve this.

So what do we do?  We make “me time” a priority.

That old cliché “me time” is really not about finding time for a pedicure (which I did eventually but almost was late for the event, if you were wondering).  It’s about having the foresight to plan to do something that is solely for ourselves, that gives us energy, satisfaction, joy or whatever else it is we need at that moment.  “Me time” is for feeding our needs and desires so everything else that we have to do at work, at home, for our friends, for our families, for our significant others doesn’t feel so draining at times.

There is no right or wrong way to make “me time” a regular part of your life, not just that hour you try to fit in every two months to get your nails done. It is all about what works for you.  Think about the challenges you face on a daily basis and carve out some time during the day or during the week to just do what you want to do.

For example, in addition to managing all the aspects of Lady In Charge (design, writing, social media), I work full-time in a very supportive but also sometimes very demanding environment.  To get to and from work, I commute anywhere between 40 minutes to one hour each way, so I don’t have a lot of time or energy when I get home.  I try to exercise and eat healthy, so I spend time most evenings during the week getting a healthy lunch and snacks together as well as zumba 1-2 times a week.  I am dating a great fella but he also has a busy life and lives about 40 minutes away from me, so most of our “dates” are half a day or longer on the weekends to make the most of our time together.  Of course I also want to spend time with friends and family, as well as all keep up with all my errands, but all this I really only have time to do on the weekends.

Putting it that way, it appears that have no time for (you guessed it) ME!

But, recently I made a pact with myself. After realizing how much I love Sundays, I decided that I will make no plans for Sundays in advance. I will wake up on Sunday mornings and decide what I want to do on that day.  Some of those Sundays I do nothing but drink tea, surf the internet and blog, other Sundays I might run some extra errands that I feel like doing such as buying presents, picking up groceries , etc.  Sundays are for what I ever I want to do and if it’s something productive, great.  If I’m just spending it with a friend doing some shopping and catching up, it is still productive because any time for me is an investment in me.

I challenge all you fabulous ladies out there to set aside a regular “me time” and make a commitment to invest some time in taking care of yourself.  Even if it’s only 1 hour a week and you end up watching an episode of your favourite Real Housewives franchise (which I fully approve of by the way), you will find that taking some “me time” gives you energy and time to refocus so you can go back to being the best lady you can be.

