Tags

, , ,

Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Cake, Betty Crocker

Happy Birthday to my boo! Was my home-made cake for him a hit?

There is something about the summer sunshine that makes me want to bake.  On one of the hottest days last month, I spent an afternoon in a blazing hot kitchen making scones.  I know I sound crazy right now…but sunshine gives me energy!  And when I have extra energy I become more creative – hence the baking spree.  But, like any of you out there, not having the time or energy to bake does make it a chore instead of the pleasant and relaxing (for me) experience it can be.

A few weeks back it was my fella’s birthday and I had promised him long ago to make him a birthday cake.  At the time, I did not realize what a crazy busy month June would be, so I did not consider how when the time came to actually make said cake how stressful the thought of it was.

Luckily he had said many times that he almost always had an ice cream cake on his birthday (we’ve only been together for 2 of his birthdays so far) and knowing his favourite ice cream flavour is mint chocolate chip, I decided I would make him a mint chocolate chip ice cream cake.  Now I don’t have an ice cream maker, so I figured I would make the cake with store-bought ice cream over an Oreo cookie crust.  To me, this seemed like the safest choice for a good (but not great) birthday cake.

But, the more I thought about it, the more I realized that the live classy and stay sassy way of life is not to pick the safe choice.  It’s to go with the best choice!  This is a man I adore, trust and want to make happy for years to come.  I want to make him the best cake I can make, one that he will remember on every birthday after this one for the love I put into making him something home-made especially for him.

That’s when this Betty Crocker Mint-Chocolate Ice Cream Cake recipe came in to save the day.  Yes, it still uses store-bought ice cream and yes, the cake is made from a cake mix not from scratch…but there was a fair amount of work to get to the end result which is a layered ice cream cake worthy of the birthday of my fabulous fella.  The guests at the party enjoyed it, I didn’t stress myself out too much making it, and  the best thing of all was that my fella loved his made just for him cake.

Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream Cake, Betty Crocker

1. Bake cake 2. Layer cake with ice cream then freeze for at least 30 minutes to set 3. Ice cake with crumb coating and freeze again to prevent melting 4. Ice cake again. 5. Decorate. 6. Enjoy!

