Tags

, ,

Bombay Brow Bar Review

Would my session at Bombay Brow Bar “rock” my brows as promised?

The month of May has gone by so fast that before I realized it, it was nearing the end of the month and no Beauty Bar review done!  Luckily I have been off for the last week on staycation and despite the multiple items on my to do list (clean out closet, catch up on reading, meet up with friends I have not seen in a while), I decided I also deserved some time for myself.  So I booked my standard facial appointment but also decided to be a little more adventurous and finally have my eyebrows professionally shaped.

Now, don’t get me wrong and think that I’ve been sporting an unruly uni-brow all these years.  Quite the contrary.  In fact, I’m slightly obsessive and controlling about my eyebrows – ok, ok, very obsessive and controlling – so much so that I have never so much as allowed someone to pluck one hair out of my eyebrows.  Part of my fear was ending up in a salon that was unkempt, unprofessional and leaving with only half of my precious eyebrows.  That was until I stumbled upon the concept of “brow bars” which seem to be popping up all over my city (Vancouver) and other major cities across the world.  I did my research and read the reviews, finally deciding on a place called Bombay Brow Bar.

Bombay Brow Bar Review

The warm and inviting setting at the West 4th location put me immediately at ease.

Bombay Brow Bar is dedicated purely to taking care of your eyebrows using methods like waxing, tweezing and the most recommended threading.  Walking into their West 4th location, I admit I was a little nervous.  Thankfully the gorgeous fuchsia and purple decor and the warm and friendly faces of the staff put me at ease right away.  I was offered a delicious cup of chai then whisked off by the lovely and professional Jasmine to start my Bombshell Brows experience.

The first part of the service was a full consultation on the current state of my eyebrows as well as drawing of potential eyebrow shapes.  This was an eye-opening experience for me to say the least.  I foolishly thought my brows were not bad for someone who had been doing them herself for years, however Jasmine gently advised that my “natural” look was actually on the thin side and there were whole areas of my brows that needed to grow in!  As shocked as I was, this is one of the benefits of going to a professional brow bar.  The places that charge $5 for a shaping certainly would not have the expertise nor the willingness to offer real advice on how your brows should look to best complement your face.

After the shaping consultation, Jasmine helped me decide what areas I wanted to target and what I wanted to keep as is.  I felt that leaving the top arches of my brow untouched was best for me and even though Jasmine felt otherwise she was not pushy about it.  We then decided on threading as the method of hair removal – threading is basically using cotton thread in a cutting motion to remove hair from the root.  Sounds impossible, but it truly works!  I will admit it stings a little but nothing more than any waxing, electrolysis or laser hair removal session would.  The benefit of threading is that it pulls up the hair root but does not damage the skin like waxing can.  Jasmine finished off my new, improved brows with a natural-looking brow makeup application and sent me off into the world no longer a brow-shaping virgin!

After a day or two to let the experience sink in, I realized that having my eyebrows shaped professionally was not as traumatic as I expected and most of this I would attribute to the expertise and empathy of the staff at Bombay Brow Bar.  If you live in the Vancouver area, I highly recommend you pay them a visit. I am already planning to visit them again after I finish the painful experience of growing in some “missing” areas of my brows that Jasmine identified.  If you aren’t in the Vancouver area, a simple Google or Yelp search will help you find a well-reviewed brow bar close to you.

As the saying goes, the eyes are the windows to the soul, so why not give them the best frames in the form of professionally shaped eyebrows!

