For as long as I can remember I have wanted to visit Ireland, but I’m not sure at what point in my life this happened.  Maybe I saw a picture of the gorgeous green rolling hills of the Irish countryside and fell in love.  Maybe it was my love for Irish cream scented anything (seriously, I still love the smell of Irish cream flavoured Coffee-Mate).  Maybe it’s because my name is of Irish origin even though I am 100% Indian.  Regardless, when I had the opportunity to go on an exchange to Ireland a few years ago, I was over the moon with excitement.  It was an amazing and life changing trip for many reasons and to put it mildly, I am still in love with all things Irish, including St. Patrick’s Day!

Taking in the beauty of stunning cliffs of Ireland.

Taking in the beauty of stunning cliffs of Ireland.

In honour of this holiday today, I whipped up my own version of Banoffee Pie, something I first tried while in Enniskillen, Northern Ireland.  Now, before you say “Ba-what pie?!”, hear me out .  The name is a mesh of the two main ingredients in this pie:  banana and toffee.  Banoffee Pie was first claimed to be served at The Hungry Monk restaurant in Belfast, Northern Ireland years and years ago.

The traditional recipe involves making the toffee by boiling a can of condensed milk for hours .  While looking up different versions of the recipe, I stumbled upon many a horror story of cans of condensed milk bursting open, covering kitchens in a sticky, gooey mess.  As a result, my Banoffee Pie recipe is a less time-consuming and stress-inducing version, but still has the same sweet, creamy and rich taste that makes Banofee Pie unique and delicious.  Happy St Patrick’s Day!

Banoffee Pie Recipe

