I have a secret. A big one. I am 31 years old and…I have acne! I know that I’m not the only one that suffers from adult acne, but to be honest with you I thought I was out of that phase about 2 years ago when I did an overhaul of my skin care and makeup routine. I switched to spa-quality products and mineral make-up and my acne virtually disappeared. Or so I thought. Over the last month, my skin has flared up from either stress, hormones, or using the wrong product…or all three?

At first I mourned not being able to say I didn’t get acne anymore, then I got serious. What could I use to get rid of it without drying out my skin thus causing more oil production and thus more acne? First, I switched to a moisturizer with salicylic acid – not a lot, but just enough to dry out the trouble spots (I’m not sold on this product yet, so I won’t share the name). Next, I went on the hunt for a new concealer after I realized that I had been using my wonderful at covering under eye circles concealer (Clinique All About Eyes) for masking zits that popped up here and there. Clearly using a product made to cover dark under-eye circles had been adding to my problems because a rich formula like that is not ideal to use on acne prone areas.

Almay Clear Complexion Concealer - could this be the cure for my adult acne woes?

Almay Clear Complexion Concealer – could this be the cure for my adult acne woes?

So the next step on my mission to rid myself of adult acne was to find a concealer to cover pimples not cause more. I was desperate and short of time, so I headed to the drugstore for a quick fix until I could do some more research on the topic. Immediately upon presenting my problem to the cosmetics counter lady, she marched me over to the Almay section of the beauty department and showed me one of their concealers. Not having ever used Almay products, I was skeptical but bought the recommended Clear Complexion Concealer and started using it the next day.

Claim To Fame: “Blemisheal technology contains salicylic acid to heal and conceal blemishes for an even complexion. Mineral complex absorbs oil. Aloe and chamomile soothe skin to help reduce redness.” (from almay.com)

Price Point: a steal at $12 – $15 (available in most major drugstores)

The Results: Almay Clear Complexion Concealer is probably one of the best drugstore finds I have stumbled upon. The coverage on this concealer is fantastic – you really don’t have to use all that much to get the desired effect to cover up red, angry pimples. It never left my skin oily or with that cakey, too-much product feeling that you can sometimes get with concealers. I also appreciated that the bit of salicylic acid in this helped to heal my acne while covering it up, but never left the areas I used it on visibly dry or flaky.

Bang for the Buck: This concealer is inexpensive, readily available and works as promised. Definitely a steal of a deal compared to other more expensive products from department store or high-end brands.

The Last Word: As a lady in her 30s, I am sure I am not the only one who gets acne from time to time. I would highly recommend this product to anyone dealing with adult acne – it is great to have on hand in those stressful or hormonal times when your skin freaks out. Hopefully that won’t be too often for me, but Almay Clear Complexion Concealer will be in my makeup bag to pull out in times of need.

Before using Almay Clear Complexion concealer.  Terrible little red spots of acne!

Before using Almay Clear Complexion concealer. Terrible little red spots of acne!

The after: great coverage even before the last set of powder!

The after: great coverage even before the last set of powder!

