Valentine’s Day is one of those funny “holidays” on the calendar. It is not a day off from work or school nor is it really celebrated anywhere except the “western” world, however it has managed to become one of the most controversial days of the year.  I will admit, when I was single, I thought Valentine’s Day was ridiculous and a waste of time, mainly because I never had someone in my life that I wanted to celebrate it with.  This year, I have a fabulous man in my life, but neither of us seem very inspired to go all out with expensive presents and a fancy dinner to mark the occasion.  Thinking about that a little further, I’ve realized the forced ideal of what a romantic Valentine’s Day should be really does take all the fun out of this day.

So how does one put a little fun and lightheartedness back into this “holiday”?  I was inspired by traditional Valentine’s Day colours which reminded me of the cinnamon hearts, hand-made cards and yummy frosted cupcakes which made for a great holiday as a kid.  Maybe we don’t have to take this day so seriously and can enjoy the whimsy of a day filled with sweet pink, purple and red.  After all, Valentine’s Day the one night of the year that lovers can be as lovey-dovey as they please and not be judged for it…so why not enjoy it?

Valentine Love: Pink (via Polyvore)

Valentine Love: Pink (via Polyvore)

Valentine Love: Purple (via Polyvore)

Valentine Love: Purple (via Polyvore)

Valentine Love: Red (via Polyvore)

Valentine Love: Red (via Polyvore)


