Winter is one of my favourite times of the year, for so many reasons.  I love bundling up in a cozy sweater, snug-fitted gloves, fabulous boots and classic wool coat.  I love hot drinks like tea and hot chocolate and Salted Caramel Mochas.  I even love the crispness in the air when the temperature dips below zero, maybe since it does it so rarely here in Vancouver.

What don’t I love about winter?  Well for starters: chapped lips.   I have been obsessed with having the smooth “kissable” lips that they talk about in commercials forever, so when I first discovered cult classic Smith’s Rosebud Salve, it became a staple in my beauty bag immediately.  My love for this product has since only grown: I have two tubes at my desk, one tube in my purse, one tin on my nightstand and at least 4 tins on standby in case of emergency!

My obsession with Rosebud Salve one of the reasons why it is our first “Beauty Bar” review on Lady in Charge.  Every month I will be sharing some of my tried and true beauty finds as well as testing new products for the “Beauty Bar”.

Smiths Rosebud Salve

Smiths Rosebud Salve (picture via Rosebud Perfume Co.)

Claim to Fame :  This cult-favorite, multi-purpose lip balm soothes dry lips, calms and heals irritation, and soothes the sting of minor burns. Try dabbing on dry elbows or knees to condition, and relieve dryness. Also an excellent remedy for the treatment of diaper rash. (via Sephora)

Price Point:  $6 – $8 per tin or tub (available at Sephora and Urban Outfitters)

“Real Life” Use:  Rosebud Salve truly is the real deal when it comes to lip balms.  While other products may work for a limited time (usually 2 to 3 hours), Rosebud Salve has the lasting effect of keeping lips soft for hours on end.  Though you might reapply throughout the day, I find that my lips rarely return to a dry and/or flaky state whereas other lip balms provide only temporary relief.  Both the tin and tube versions use the same formula, so either version of Rosebud Salve can also soften cuticles or even be a stand in for hand lotion if in a pinch.   Everyone who loves Rosebud Salve has their own special use for it:  I have from time to time patted some under my eyes during especially dry conditions when I needed a moisture surge.   It is also free of all sorts of synthetic ingredients such as parabens and petrochemicals, which means it is friendly for use on all ages with no concerns.

Bang for the Buck:  Rosebud Salve has remarkable value for its price point (under $10). and you don’t need to use much of the product, so one tin or tube will last you a long time.   When compared to similar products (Fresh Sugar, Elizabeth Arden 8 Hour Cream Lip Protectant), Rosebud Salve is the more wallet-friendly option.  You should note that Rosebud Salve does not have a SPF factor, so for you sunbathers out there, this is not going to protect your lips from UV rays.

The Last Word:  Never has a lip balm so changed my world.  In the icy cold spring of New York city, I was desparate to condition my lips so I could enjoy the rest of my vacation. Rosebud Salve came to the rescue and has been part of my beauty routine ever since.

